Testimonials

Testimonials

Clara's fight

Since I was in second grade, I had been suffering from pain in my shoulder, which seemed to be muscular in origin. In this logic, many sessions of physiotherapy and osteotherapy were prescribed, without result. Indeed, it is only in the senior class, on September 3, 2019 following an MRI and a CT scan, that the radiologist identifies a ball, the size of a golf ball, at the level of the 5th thoracic vertebra which corresponds to a bone tumor and which explains the chronic pain. The biopsy performed a few weeks later revealed that it was an osteosblastoma, which is a benign tumor. The anxiety subsides momentarily.

Nevertheless, the second biopsy performed following the first operation in December 2019 at the Georges Pompidou European Hospital will conclude that it is an osteosblastoma-like osteosarcoma. A malignant tumor but assimilated to a low grade osteosarcoma. Alas, this was not the case because it was a high-grade osteosarcoma. This conclusion will be final and will only be reached until after the second emergency operation performed in May 2020 in the context of an early recurrence.

This will be followed by a first course of chemotherapy at the Curie Institute in June and a second one in July 2020, the very disappointing results of which led the medical team to change strategy and initiate a course of 27 radiotherapy sessions.

A third course of chemotherapy will be initiated in September before the operation on October 20, 2020 to remove the 3 vertebrae affected by the tumor. Despite all the difficulties of such an operation lasting seven hours, it is a success and a fourth session of chemotherapy can then be initiated.

Unfortunately, a few days later, the scar became disunited, forcing the surgeons to perform a 4th operation with a skin graft and displacement of the large dorsal muscle in order to strengthen the scar, which had been weakened by the treatments.

Today I am in remission and I awaiting my 5th operation which hopefully will be the last. This will consist in consolidating the implant that came to replace the removed vertebrae by a bone autograft.

The chain of solidarity triggered by my illness is just incredible and it is simply overwhelming to realize it. There are no words to describe the dedication of all the hospital staff and of course to thank the surgeons who operated on me.

They all deserve immense respect and I have boundless gratitude for them. So please support them by making a donation for pediatric cancer research.

A few words from our volunteers

Gregory loves sports and is a top athlete:

Recently made aware of the cause of children's cancer, I decided to get even more involved in 2020 when I learned that a colleague's daughter and their family were going to have to fight against the disease. As a regular runner, I don't hesitate to wear the colors of children without cancer during my training sessions, hoping to raise awareness for this cause.

Gregory

It's been 4 years since I got involved in the adventure with Vincent, my colleague and friend. 4 years that I don't regret ... because it allowed me : * to talk to my children about what other less fortunate children go through, * to run with them so that they understand volunteerism, * Meet neighbors at the market or colleagues at Coffee Corner to raise awareness, * Meet with families who are struggling but have the strength to see that everything still needs to be done, * Teaming up with Marie Notre Etoile volunteers and using my talents as a webmaster.
So I have no regrets and look forward to exceeding our fundraising goals and running those few miles together.

Thomas
en_USEnglish

Témoignages

Témoignages

Le Combat de Clara

Depuis ma classe de seconde, je souffrais de douleurs au niveau de l’épaule et qui semblaient être d’origine musculaire. Dans cette logique de nombreuses séances de kinésithérapie et d’ostéothérapie ont été prescrites, sans résultat. En effet, ce n’est qu’en classe de terminale, le 3 septembre 2019 suite à une IRM et à un Scanner, que le radiologue identifie une boule, de la taille d’une balle de golf, au niveau de la 5ème vertèbre thoracique qui correspond à une tumeur osseuse et qui explique les douleurs chroniques. La biopsie réalisée quelques semaines plus tard révèle qu’il s’agit d’un ostéosblastome qui est une tumeur bénigne. L’angoisse redescend momentanément.

Néanmoins, la seconde biopsie réalisée suite à la première opération du mois de décembre 2019 à l’Hôpital Européen Georges Pompidou conclura qu’il s’agit d’un ostéosarcome ostéosblastome-like. Une tumeur maligne mais assimilée à un ostéosarcome de bas grade. Hélas, il n’en sera rien car c’est d’un ostéosarcome de haut grade qu’il s’agit. Cette conclusion sera définitive et ne sera apportée qu’après la seconde opération réalisée en urgence au mois de mai 2020 dans le contexte d’une récidive précoce.

La suite sera constituée d’une première cure de chimiothérapie à l’institut Curie au mois de juin et d’une seconde en juillet 2020 dont les résultats très décevants, conduisirent l’équipe médicale à changer de stratégie et à engager une cure de 27 séances de radiothérapie.

Une troisième cure de chimiothérapie sera engagée en septembre avant l’opération du 20 octobre 2020 consistant à retirer les 3 vertèbres atteintes par la tumeur. Malgré toutes les difficultés d’une telle opération d’une durée de sept heures, c’est une réussite et une 4ème séance de chimiothérapie peut alors être engagée.

Hélas, quelques jours plus tard la désunion de la cicatrice force les chirurgiens à intervenir pour une 4ème opération avec greffe de peau et déplacement du muscle grand dorsal afin de renforcer la cicatrice très fragilisée par les traitements.

Aujourd’hui je suis en rémission et j’attends ma 5ème opération qui espérons-le, sera la dernière. Il s’agira de consolider l’implant qui est venu remplacer les vertèbres retirées par une autogreffe osseuse.

La chaine de solidarité enclenchée par ma maladie est juste incroyable et c’est tout simplement bouleversant de le réaliser. Il n’y a pas de mots pour décrire le dévouement de tout le personnel hospitalier et bien entendu pour remercier les chirurgiens qui m’ont opérée.

Ils méritent tous un immense respect et j’ai pour eux une reconnaissance sans limite. Alors soutenez-les en faisant un don pour la recherche sur les cancers pédiatriques.

Quelques mots de nos bénévoles

Gregory aime beaucoup le sport et c’est un athlète de haut niveau :

Récemment sensibilisé à la cause du cancer des enfants, j'ai décidé de m'impliquer encore d’avantage en 2020 quand j’ai appris que la fille d’un collègue et leur famille allaient devoir lutter contre la maladie. Pratiquant la course à pieds de manière régulière, je n’hésite pas à porter les couleurs d’enfants sans cancer pendant les sorties d’entraînement en espérant sensibiliser un maximum de gens sur cette cause.

Gregory

Cela fait maintenant 4 ans que je me suis fait embarquer dans l'aventure par Vincent, mon collègue et ami. 4 ans que je ne regrette pas ... parce que cela m'a permis : * de parler à mes enfants de ce que vivent d'autres enfants moins chanceux, * de courir avec eux pour qu'ils comprennent l'engagement bénévole, * de rencontrer des voisins sur le marché ou des collègues lors de Coffee Corner pour les sensibiliser, * d'aller à la rencontre de familles éprouvées mais portées par cette force que tout reste à faire, * de faire équipe avec les bénévoles de Marie Notre Etoile et de mettre en pratique mes talents comme me transformer n webmaster.
Alors je ne regrette pas et j'attends avec impatience de dépasser nos objectifs de collecte et de nous retrouver pour courir ces quelques kilomètres ensemble.

Thomas
fr_FRFrançais